sometimes one is the luckiest number

I love that song called “One” that goes one is the loneliest number

I’m most familiar with the Aimee Mann version and that’s my favourite… anyway, my point is that I like those sad and depressing lyrics packaged with amazing skippy music.

Today, I found myself singing a variation on the lyrics – one is the luckiest number. I decided to leave work early to try to catch a documentary about this incredible musician that I saw perform last Saturday.

Given that this screening was part of a festival that happens to be one of the largest festivals in the country and one of two events (the other is another festival) that brings the highest numbers of visitors to this town, I knew there was a good chance I would not get in (I don’t have a pass/badge).  So like many others, I stood in line and waited.

At some point they told us that it was unlikely we’d get in but I decided to wait.  Then someone came to say that perhaps they’d let 10 people in. Guess what number I was?  Yep, 10 and there was a couple in front of me so I figured that if the only had 8 tickets, there was a chance these two would leave and I would still get in.  A couple of minutes later another woman tells us that there wont be any tickets left and the crowd is about disperse. The couple in front of me had already stepped aside when yet another woman starts counting people and says I can get in, I’m the last one because they can only let 7 people in (someone further ahead had just left) so I turned to the couple and asked if they were ok with me going in, instead of one of them.  They stared at me as if that was the most idiotic question ever asked (Hey! I was just being polite) so I just marched in, bought my ticket, sat on the front row and got ready to enjoy my films, even at the cost of a sore neck from being so close.

I got to enjoy a couple of great documentaries on new music and the fact that going on my own was the only reason I was able to get in made the whole experience the more awesome.


About this entry