3.1

3.1 miles that is.

Today, I finally woke up around 9:30 and debated on going for a run with my friend (from now on aka…) Cutie.  I was feeling lazy and was thinking of a hundred excuses not to go but at the end we did and I’m glad I did!

We went to run around the lake.  Last time I was there with Cutie was when I started running and after 1.5 miles I was dying and my left  leg as killing me.  I was also ridiculously slow.  We ran about 2 miles in close to 28 minutes.

Today it was a totally different thing.  This is the first time I can remember not going through the initial wanting to stop phase.  The last mile or so I did on my own, I just had to take off and it felt good.  I ran 3.1 miles in about 33 minutes, still slow but much faster than ever before and the best of it, I was able to sprint the last little bit and was not about to collapse.  I am really happy about it and I getting excited about maybe entering a 5 k in a few weeks.

It’s been a really good weekend. . . what a contrast from last one!  Friday I went for fancy cocktails and to see Exit through the Gift Shop with friends.  It was fun and cheap!  At the bar, they charged me for my fancy Sazerac as if it was included in the happy hour thing so it was $5 (compared to Cutie’s Paris Manhattan for $15!) and at the theatre, where you can order food, they screwed up my goat cheese salad.  They forgot the goat cheese, so they replaced it and didn’t charge me for it.  Not bad.  Good movie, BTW.

Today, after my great satisfying run, I went to an outdoor performance.  This a preview of a piece created in the 70s that this amazing New Music group is working on.  I went with a friend and although I was a bit concerned she wouldn’t be in to it, she enjoyed it even when she found it a bit challenging.

After that we went to a wicked craft fair. Awesome.  I was very restrained but found this woman that makes the most beautiful and unique dresses so I got one.  My friends say it is totally me.  The artist and I totally hit it off, bonded over my trippen shoes.  We have very similar tastes.  I am so getting more stuff from her!

Cutie and I decided to go for burgers for dinner and found this super yummy place pretty close to my house that promises to become a favourite, the best veggie burger I’ve had in this town by far.  We ended up bringing them here because the place was infant infested, so we sat on my porch and eventually strolled down to the corner store to get cigarettes.  Bad, bad girls but there were extra light American Spirit so they were not as bad as we normally do.

So I’ve had a weekend of art, friends and general goodness.

Now I’m in bed with Hank (aka as the handsomest cat ever) and I feel happy and content and ready to tackle life.


About this entry